web pages

2009-02-24 Tue

“flashy cards”…

Filed under: dator / computer, web log — pl @ 23:42

Played around some with ZDT (Zhongwen Development Tool), a programme mentioned by Olle Linge on his web log.

All in all, I’ve been using three of the books mentioned on the wordlist page:-
“Colloquial Chinese” by P.C. T’ung and D.E. Pollard
“Kinesiska – språket i mittens rike” by Johan Björkstén
“Integrated Chinese” by Tao-chung Yao and Yuehao Liu …

…in that order, and “various amounts of time since”.
All of them using simplified characters, though.

I have a dim plan on repeating parts (all?) of them, but this time learning the traditional characters instead.

Previously, I’ve been using paper flash cards, and large Excel files.
This time, I think I’ll give the ZDT a try.

  • pro paper flash cards:- easy to carry around, no need to bring the computer
  • pro electronic flash cards:- no need to make the paper flash cards, can use it as a combined “my own word list”

Plan: not use the readymade word lists (eventhough I’ve downloaded the available ones), but instead enter “the words I find necessary” (e.g.: I find it rather unnecessary to have the names of the fictional characters as entries – I manage fine with the separate words instead) in the order I find suitable.
We’ll see how it goes…

1 Comment »

  1. There is another important advantage with ZDT, namely the interval filter. It might not be obvious at first glance why it is so wonderful, but I promise you it’s the best thing since sliced bread. I elaborate on why this is so in tha article you’ve already provided a link to, but I point it out again because it’s so important.

    Lycka till!

    Comment by Olle Linge — 2009-02-25 Wed @ 04:11


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

