web pages

2009-11-21 Sat

Ubuntu 9.10

Filed under: dator / computer — pl @ 23:42

I installed Ubuntu 9.10 on the fourth partition.
I didn’t plan on using it for “surfing”.

Anyways, I tried connecting with my Huawei E220.
Immediately, I got the “weather forecast” thingy – i.e. I was not “only connected”, but also able to “surf”!
Downloaded the updates, and am now pondering the situation:- How come it works on the old computer, and not on the new one?

The only difference I made was that on the new one, I chose to have /home as a separate partition.
On the other hand, Ubuntu seems to like my old 4:3 screen (with a resolution of 1400×1050) better than the new 16:10 screen (with a resolution of 1280×800, and quite often falling back to a 1024×768 (4:3) resolution – i.e. black borders to the left and right)…

Now, the question is:-
Should I reinstall Ubuntu 9.10 on my new computer (and try to make the 3G modem work there as well – not that I really had to try, it just worked!), and if so: should I skip the Windows partition on it?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

