web pages

2011-05-23 Mon

In space, no one can see you fall … right?

Filed under: film — pl @ 23:25

So.

Over the last few days, I’ve seen all six parts of the Star Wars saga:
· Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace (1999) [IMDb]
· Star Wars: Episode II – Attack of the Clones (2002) [IMDb]
· Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge of the Sith (2005) [IMDb]
· Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope (1977) [IMDb]
· Star Wars: Episode V – The Empire Strikes Back (1980) [IMDb]
· Star Wars: Episode VI – Return of the Jedi (1983) [IMDb]
I’ve seen all of them before (I think … I’m a little unsure about part III, really), but not purposely in that order within such short time (except for parts IV, V, and VI).

I really get the impression that they’re actually meant to be seen in the order they were made,
i.e.   IV, V, VI,   I, II, III   (or maybe even   IV, V, VI,   I, II, III,   IV, V, VI  ),
not   I, II, III, IV, V, VI   – at least not if it’s your first viewing.
There are parts that really spoils things, if you watch them from I to VI, and there are parts you won’t even get, if you see them in that order.

 
some reflections:
Jabba the Hutt’s entrance guards reminds me of the vogons in the Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy film (or both films, maybe? I don’t remember).
And I do like that Princess Leia (and Padmé too) has an active part, instead of just being some kind of female “I don’t know what to dohoho … rescue me!”-figure. I noticed another female role as well, at the end-ish of part VI. Apart from those, the females-with-lines were sparse in general.
( … but I can’t help smiling, each time I see a hit ship (that isn’t one of the exploding ones) just falling … in empty space :-)
(Ok, things do move in space … but not always necessarily “down, from your point of view”.)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

